By on October 8, 2012
Udupi (6)

Udupi Sri Krishna Matha

Udupi Sri Krishna Matha (Tulu:ಉಡುಪಿ ಶ್ರೀ ಕೃಷ್ಣ ಮಠ) is a famous Hindu temple dedicated to god Krishna located in the town of Udupi in Karnataka, India.

The matha area resembles a living ashram, a holy place for daily devotion and living. Surrounding the Sri Krishna Matha are several temples, the most ancient being made of basic wood and stone of 1,500 years origin.

About History

The Krishna Matha was founded by the Vaishnavite saint Shri Madhwacharya in the 13th century. He was the founder of the Dvaita school of Vedanta. Legend has it that once Kanakadasa, a pious worshipper and devotee of Lord Krishna, was not allowed entry into the temple. It didn’t upset him, but instead made him pray with intense devotion. Lord Krishna was so pleased that the statue turned back to where Kanakadasa was praying,and the wall before Kanakadasa broke up to allow the disciple to gaze upon his heavenly from at the back of the mutt (monastery). Till today, devotees still worship Lord Krishna by praying through the same window that Kanakadasa was blessed with a view,that is known as KanakaKhind

Krishna Matha

The daily sevas (offerings to god) and administration of the Krishna Mutt are managed by the Ashta Mathas (eight temples). Each of the Ashta Mathas performs temple management activities for two years in a cyclical order. They are collectively known as the Krishna Matha.The Krishna Matha is known throughout the world for its religious customs, traditions, and learning in Dvaita or Tatvavaada philosophy. It is also the centre of Daasa Sahitya, a form of literature that originated in Udupi.
These eight Mathas are Pejavara, Puttige, Palimaru, Adamaru, Sodhe, Kaniyooru, Shirur and Krishnapura

Swamijis of the Ashta Mathas

The swamijis of the Ashta Mathas and their successors are given as below:

Matha Swamiji Successor

Pejavara Sri Vishvesha Tirtha Swamiji Sri Vishvaprasanna Tirtha Swamiji
Palimaru Sri Vidhyadeesha Tirtha Swamiji
Adamaru Sri Vishvapriya Tirtha Swamiji
Puttige Sri Sugunendra Tirtha Swamiji Sri Sujnanendra Tirtha Swamiji
Sodhe Sri Vishvavallabha Tirtha Swamiji
Kaniyooru Sri Vidyavallabha Tirtha Swamiji
Shirur Sri Lakshmivara Tirtha Swamiji
Krishnapura Sri Vidyasagara Tirtha Swamiji

About Festivals

During the Paryaya festival, held every two years, the temple management is handed over to the next Matha. Each of the Mathas is headed by a Swami, who will be in charge of the temple during his Paryaya.The paryaya is held on even years like 2008,2010,2012.Festivals like Makara Sankranthi,Ratha Sapthami, Madhva Navami, Hanuma Jayanthi, Sri Krishna Janmashtami, Navarathi Mahotsava, Madhva Jajanti(Vijaya Dashami), Naraka Chathurdashi, Deepavali, Geetha Jayanthi etc., are celebrated very grandly by Paryaya Mutt every year.


About ramana

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>